Spellwright

Spellwright

By Blake Charlton

  • Release Date : 2010-05-20
  • Genre : Fantasy
  • FIle Size : 3.26 MB
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 148 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

Spellwright A highly original and engaging debut set in a fantasy world where language holds extraordinary power, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Tad Williams

Nicodemus Weal is a cacographer, unable to reproduce even simple magical texts without 'misspelling' – a mistake which can have deadly consequences. He was supposed to be the Halcyon, a magic-user of unsurpassed power, destined to save the world; instead he is restricted to menial tasks, and mocked for his failure to live up to the prophecy.

But not everyone interprets prophecy in the same way. There are some factions who believe a cacographer such as Nicodemus could hold great power – power that might be used as easily for evil as for good. And when two of the wizards closest to Nicodemus are found dead, it becomes clear that some of those factions will stop at nothing to find the apprentice and bend him to their will…

Reviews

Praise for SPELLWRIGHT:

'Blake Charlton has not only invented a fascinating world and peopled it with realistic people and wonderful, grisly monsters, but he has also created one of the few truly original magical systems we've seen in fantasy fiction… I'm fascinated to see what happens next and will be following every word with the absorption of an apprentice spellwright. You will be, too' Tad Williams

'Nicodemus Weal is a protagonist that all of us can identify with. SPELLWRIGHT features a unique system of magic and characters that are genuine inhabitants of that world. SPELLWRIGHT is a letter-perfect story: an absorbing read and recommended.' Robin Hobb

‘An enthralling tale’ Terry Brooks

'A clever conceit well executed adds a flair of originality to this wizard-in-training fantasy. A spellcaster who can't spell – in both senses of the word! Fast-paced and well-written, SPELLWRIGHT is an enjoyable read’ Kevin J. Anderson

‘SPELLWRIGHT [is] a refreshingly different fantasy novel… enjoyably well-written, with a satisfying conclusion that leaves plenty of room for the inevitable sequel’ SFX

Reviews

  • Fantastic Story

    5
    By Darktower99
    Couldn't put this book down. Very enjoyable and fast paced. We'll worth the money.
  • Spell wright

    4
    By Smiler1963
    I chose this book on the back of previous reviews and it did not let me down. A really clever idea that kept me reading to the end. However, really can't wait for the continuation as there must surely be. Great.
  • Superb

    5
    By Lehcar69
    Disappointed...only when I had no more pages left to read. Enthralled by the world Blake has created. Left wanting more? Oh yes.
  • Spellwright

    4
    By david evans
    Where do you guys get this book free?
  • Brilliant book!

    5
    By Prerna_u
    Can't wait to read the sequel.
  • Loved it

    5
    By Samichungxxx
    Only got this because it was free, but really did enjoy it. And can't wait for the next book to go with it and won't even mind paying for it
  • Epic

    5
    By Xixona_uk
    This was an epic read well worth the £4.99 was happy to pay it if u don't like the price don't buy it but it's your loss. Loved the new look on magic very original story line with great twists. Dyslexics have the imaginations I would know. Let's hope he wrights quicker than I do.
  • Very original

    4
    By RBlayney
    An original approach to the fantasy world and certainly had me hooked from the start. Nice to see a few unexpected twists.
  • Gripping

    5
    By LastbornSmudg3
    An excellent story that had me hooked throughout. My only disappointment was when the book ended. Looking forward to the next installment.
  • A

    5
    By Dm lord
    Very good read, I eagerly await the next instalment

keyboard_arrow_up